Enshrinement Ceremony 2017

 WARNER ROBINS, GA -- The Georgia Aviation Hall of Fame will honor three new inductees into the Hall of Fame April 29 at the 2017 Annual Enshrinement Banquet at the Century of Flight Hangar at the Museum of Aviation in Warner Robins.  
The three Georgia aviation luminaries are Elton D. (Don) Brooks, Jr., Sgt. Mike J. Ferros, and Richard (Dick) Fortenberry.  The three new members bring the total number of military and civilian inductees in the Hall of Fame to 112 since the Hall started in 1989.   
 The Banquet will begin with a 6 p.m. reception followed by the dinner and program at 7 p.m. Click the Order Tickets tab to purchase tickets.  Seats are $85 per person of which $35 is tax deductible. Attire is business suit or black tie optional. The expected audience of 500 people will include current and former Georgia Aviation Hall of Fame Board Members, former enshrines, government, aerospace and defense industry leaders and aviation enthusiast from around the state.   
 This year’s, honorable mentions are AMT of the Year, The Commemorative Air Force Dixie Wing, and Flight Instructor of the Year, Jeffrey Charles Pickett.    
The three inductee nominations are:  
Elton D. (Don) Brooks, Jr.  (1950-  )   
While working for his father business in Georgia, Don Brooks developed a deep appreciation for the sacrifices made by our military veterans.  Combined with a love of aviation, Brooks has worked tirelessly to preserve the heritage of military aviation in Georgia.  This includes starting a foundation dedicated to preserving the WWII Primary Flight Training base in his hometown of Douglas, Georgia.  Don has also recovered and restored numerous vintage military aircraft, and started another foundation to ensure these aircraft were able to travel around the country to honor our veterans, preserve our aviation heritage, and educate generations to the high price of freedom. 


Mike J. Ferros (1943-  )  
Born and raised in Georgia, Mike Ferros retired from the Georgia State Patrol Aviation Division as a Sergeant Pilot with more than 7500 hours of flight time.  Ferros was instrumental in forming the Aviation Division of the Georgia State Patrol, which is now the largest state-sponsored airborne division in the eastern U.S. and is a major contributor to Georgia’s public safety.  During his career in aviation, Ferros was a key leader in Georgia’s drug eradication initiative during the 1980s.  He has also performed many search and rescue missions, including locating escaped prisoners and helping to locate downed pilots.   
Richard (Dick) Fortenberry (1938-  )   
The first three-time U.S. Nation Skydiving Champion, Dick Fortenberry was selected to become one of the founding members of the United States Army Parachute Team, ‘The Golden Knights.’  He assisted in establishing 25 world accuracy records, competed in three World Championships, and won the title of ‘Overall World Champion.’  Having accomplished all he could in sport parachuting, Fortenberry then attended the U.S. Army Helicopter School.  Upon graduation, he spent fifteen months as a gunship pilot in Vietnam, where he earned the Bronze Star and 26 Air Medals.  After leaving the service, he spent 25 years as a corporate pilot before retiring.